To new beginnings.

At last, I have forayed onto a venture I’ve been dreaming about for some time…to have my inner thoughts immortalized in the history of the world wide web (okay, I’ll admit that’s a tad dramatic even for me).  I hope to use this blog to record where I’m at in this moment of life.  You see what provoked me was that I realized that I had come a long way from the indestructible, unchangeable 16-year-old teen to a somewhat mature, “older teen” in her early twenties.

Throughout high school and college I never felt like I was changing or adapting to my new surroundings.  Sure, I met new people; learned new things; took part in once in a lifetime opportunities, but I functioned like a 16 yr. old in an older girl’s body.  I would witness my friends and classmates make life-changing decisions, and I would literally be stunned. I was like, “Aren’t they too young for marriage, kids, the whole kit-and-caboodle?” I felt like the odd one out. No one seemed to be in the same state of mind that I was in. Everyone was moving on in life, and just accepting the obvious changes that came their way.

But I was different. I couldn’t wrap my head around this “growing-up” business.  Change was like a new strain of bacteria trying to invade my body; but my white blood cells were not going to give up without a fight.  I’ve resisted change for as long as I can remember.  But, it’s always been an uphill battle.  Sometimes I emerged victorious, other times I would be left tasting the metallic bitterness of defeat.

Yet, what I’ve come to realize, as each March rolls around and the amount of candles on the cake grow at an alarming pace, that change is not something to fear.  At least, not all the time.  It’s like looking at the Mona Lisa. My first impression was not a kind one. Suffice it to say that I’m pretty shallow and like to look at pretty things (That’s not to say I don’t appreciate fine art and all that comes with it). Yet, the more I’ve gazed at the spectacular painting, the more I’ve grown to love the uniqueness of her beauty.  There’s a beauty in change that I’ve been missing out on, until now.

So here starts the documentation of the changes that are about to accumulate in my life. Who knows what the coming months will bring. All I know for now is that I’m ready to handle whatever comes my way. It may be boring, but as I’ve learned, boring is not all that bad.  If at the end of the day I can still amuse myself, I must not be that boring (Here’s hoping, lol).

Day 1 of 25 Days of Lenten Fitness: Yoga for 14 min./ #RunStreak 3 miles in 30 min. @ 1o min. / mile pace.

黛安娜

Published by

mscreation101

Jumping at the chance to live vicariously through my world's stage.

Leave a Reply

