December Determinations

This December, I’m taking it upon myself to challenge myself to new heights.  I’m trying to look at everything in a positive light and see where that road takes me.  I’m really not a resolution type of person, but once I come to a certain decision I tend to stick to it for better or for worse.  Lists are not my best friends by any means, but for some odd reason if I add a deadline or constrain myself to a set period of time, I can usually stick to my goals and accomplish them all.

So, here goes. It might be a stretch, but I’m going to try to adhere to my personal goals.

1. Run everyday.  After reading about the Running World Runstreak, I’ve decided to challenge myself with it as well.  As long as I run at least 1 mile a day, I can keep the streak alive.  I’m not a fast runner by any means, but as my glutes, hamstrings, knees and feet carry me past minutes and miles, I can’t help but keep up with the practice that my body so loves to partake in.  That’s not to say my mind is in total agreement.  Yet, it comes around as well when the endorphin high after a run sets in and my cheeks burn with the rouge of excitement.

2. Practice Yoga everyday.  As I’ve said before, Yoga and I do not click by any means.  We’re wary opponents eyeing each other for the opportunity to be called the victor.  The moves and poses are not easy by any means and my body is completely resisting the stretches. But, I have faith that I will become stronger, so I’m not going to stop.

3. Blog everyday.  Self-explanatory, but necessary on my part. Writing has always been therapeutic for me and though I keep a diary, I usually use it to vent; either from the stresses of the world or whenever I’m angry at someone.  I hope that in keeping up with this blog I can mature in my written style and thought.

4. Read everyday. Recreationally, that is. There are so many novel and creative ideas and authors with such interesting things to say. As a student, learning was mandatory. But as I get older, I see the luxury and the comfort in knowing that I can learn something new everyday.  Knowledge is everywhere and I’m going to do my best to harness as much as I can.  This week I’m tackling Touré’s Who’s Afraid of Post-Blackness? What It Means to Be Black Now.  Hope to have a review up by next week.

I may add a couple more, but that’s enough to keep me busy as the year comes to a close. So, here’s to the Double D

Day 3 of 25 Days of Lenten Fitness: Yoga for 17 min./ #RunStreak 1.14 miles running plus extra miles walking.

 

黛安娜

Published by

mscreation101

Jumping at the chance to live vicariously through my world's stage.

Leave a Reply

