A Stewy Sunday; Creation #102

After a vigorous and brisk one and a half hour bike ride, I decided to prepare my week’s meal.  Taking stock of all the vegetables in my fridge, I decided to make a vegetable stew.  Who knew that spending half an hour chopping vegetables could be relaxing and therapeutic? All the stress I had accumulated from a busy Sunday at church just melted into the soothing sound of knife on cutting board.  Really, I would recommend this practice to anyone looking to relieve stress.

So without further ado here’s a composite of my cooking potential, lol:

1. Chop the vegetables into 1 inch pieces.

 

Onion, Garlic, Ginger chopped

Squash, Tomato, Celery chopped

Sweet Potato, Carrot, Bell Pepper, Daikon and Mushroom chopped

2. Add Onions to Oil and start sweating it down.

3. Add Garlic and Ginger and wait for it to caramelize. To this medley, add red chili powder, turmeric and salt so that the oil can steep the flavors out of the spices. Cook for 1 minute.

4. Add Squash, Sweet Potato, Carrot, Daikon, Bell Pepper, Mushrooms, Celery, and Tomato in that order. Let everything sweat down. It takes about 7-10 minutes.

                  

5. Meanwhile, I had soaked 2 cups of Moong Beans in water and let it cook for 30 min. I then added the half-cooked beans to the stew pot.

6. Next step was to add water, enough to cover all the ingredients. Then I let it come to a boil and simmered the stew for 30 min. And so, I had a feast! Of course, I added pepper, salt, dried oregano and dried thyme to kick the flavor up a notch. But, I have to say there was a definite spicy kick after you swallowed the soup, one that is only drawn out when you fry the chili powder in oil.

7. I also steamed some corn while I boiled the beans, which made for a nice side dish!

Garnished w/ black pepper and salt.

8. To finish everything off, I added Oven-Dried Tomatoes to the soup. I had cut up 4 tomatoes and dried them in the over for 3 hrs. @ 200 degrees Fahrenheit.  Boy, does it pack a flavor punch!  Can’t wait to have my lunches this week!

Day 4 of 25 Days of Lenten Fitness: Yoga for 17 min., Biking for 1.5hrs., #Runstreak 1 mile

黛安娜

Published by

mscreation101

Jumping at the chance to live vicariously through my world's stage.

Leave a Reply

