Chive Pancake

I was going to make Scallion Pancakes, but all I had were chives in the fridge and so that’s what I made.  Now don’t get all weirded out by the fact that this pancake is on the savory side.  If Americans can be open minded to try bacon pancakes or cupcakes; why not mix in a vegetable now and again?

Most Asian cuisines incorporate vegetables such as scallions, chives, pickled cabbage (kimchi) into savory dishes that tickle a myriad of taste buds.

I have sort of become a connoisseur of various Korean and Chinese dishes that I’ve developed a taste and craving for. Once in awhile I succumb to the Siren calls (along w/ some prodding from my siblings who love this recipe by the way) and create this unbelievably simple and mouthwatering dish.

The recipe is a basic pancake batter w/ some spices added in for a kick of flavor:

1 cup flour

1 c chopped scallions or chives (I love packing it into the batter so that every morsel is overflowing w/ green specks.)

water – enough to bring batter to pancake consistency

1 tbsp red chili powder

1 tbsp paprika

1 tbsp garlic powder

a pinch of salt

Optional: Add 1 egg.

Enjoy!

黛安娜  다이아나  ഡയാന

Published by

mscreation101

Jumping at the chance to live vicariously through my world's stage.

Leave a Reply

