Sweet Potato / Pumpkin & Mung Bean Veggie Burgers

I was looking for a homemade veggie burger recipe because I was getting tired of the nonstop lentil soups I’ve been having lately.  I browsed the internet and was intrigued with the combo of mixing oats, black beans and sweet potato to make a veggie burger.

Since my pantry is stock full of mung beans and adzuki beans, I decided to give mung beans a whirl.  One night I had sweet potato and the next night I had pumpkin; so I used what I had and hoped for the best.

The first time around, I didn’t really measure amounts; instead, I tasted all the way through and adjusted along the way.  Trying the recipe for the second time, I made sure to keep a record of my measurements.

It turned out delicious. With the weather warming up, my family is itching to get the barbecue grill up and smoking.  Now, when they’re making their beef burgers, I can join them with a vegetarian alternative.

One thing I learned through the recipe producing process is that there is no right or wrong in cooking (unless you burn something). It’s all about bringing together different ingredients in such a way that they create a harmonious experience for our taste buds to enjoy.

Boil beans for 30 min. or until soft.
Puree beans in food processor.
Cook pumpkin until soft; about 10-15 min.
Puree pumpkin to a pulp!
Prepare mix-ins and combine to the mashed beans and pumpkin.
Spice Mix.
Lastly, add in oats until the mix is not too sticky or too dry.
Make into patties.
Bake for 30 min. or crisp in a pan w/ a little oil.

黛安娜  다이아나  ഡയാന

Published by

mscreation101

Jumping at the chance to live vicariously through my world's stage.

Leave a Reply

