Running Scared: 10K Training

Truth: I’m scared.

I don’t care about pace, time or if other people pass me while running. What I wonder is whether I will be able to run 6 miles straight- in about, 3 weeks.

Yes, I log long runs (as per my definition). Yes, I do interval runs. Yes, I strength train. Preparation is all good and well. But, what do I do about irrational fear? That coupled with the fact that I think I run slow, but that’s a topic to tackle another day.

How do others train for half marathons and marathons? I already feel like I’m pushing my body to it’s limit. My ultimate goal is to challenge a half; without injuring myself in the process.

I’m relying on my pumped up playlist, my “I can do it” and “Push, Push” mantras to trick my mind into a relaxed state. I’ll need it this week as I run longer routes to increase my mileage.

Sidebar 1: Running in the park is way more refreshing than the beach, mostly because the sun isn’t scorching my jet black hair!

Sidebar 2: Check out my new running shorts from JCPenney, on clearance for $5. Love it!

黛安娜  다이아나  ഡയാന

Published by

mscreation101

Jumping at the chance to live vicariously through my world's stage.

Leave a Reply

