Raw Cocoa Sesame Seed Almond & Peanut Butter Oat Balls

image

Whenever I get a craving for something sweet,  I invariably turn to ToneItUp.com’s Peanut Butter Protein balls recipe. It’s a decadent protein packed crunch that will have your tastebuds calling for seconds and thirds.

Yet, being the chocolate lover I am, I can’t help but include some dark chocolate or cacao nibs. After a whole week of craving, I finally succumbed to the call of the late night “baking” Sirens and made my version of K&K’s recipe.  (Note: there is no actual baking involved; just some old fashioned mixing with a spoon).

I made two small batches: the main difference being the nut butters and the sesame seeds.

image

Almond Butter Balls

~1/3 – 1/2cup of raw unsweetened almond butter

pinch of sea salt

~1/4 – 1/3cup of a mixture of molasses & maple syrup (to taste: you can add more or less)

handful of craisins

~2-3TBSP dark cocoa powder

1/3 cup of gf oatmeal

1/4 cup of white, raw, untoasted sesame seeds

handul of raw, grated coconut

1. Mix the almond butter with the molasses and maple syrup over a burner, just until the mixture is smooth.

2. Add in oats, cocoa powder, craisins, salt and coconut.

3. Oil hands so the mixture won’t stick and shape the mixture into bite-size rounds.

4. Roll each round in the white sesame seeds for a delectable coating.

Peanut Butter Balls

Follow the recipe above except for the following substitutions:

-Swap the almond for peanut butter.

-Swap the craisins for golden raisins. 

-Swap the white sesame seeds for black sesame seeds.

image

To Serve: You can eat them immediately; but I prefer them refrigerated or frozen.

Enjoy:-)

Published by

mscreation101

Jumping at the chance to live vicariously through my world's stage.

Leave a comment